Twitter Audience Analysis

Sara Habbash
COM 224 Class Blog
Published in
5 min readMar 27, 2016

Twitter is a platform I use to express myself and share a variety of views and topics, with my followers who share my beliefs and seem to agree or relate to what I post. I am going to analyze my audience based on a certain criterion, however; if you remain curious about what I share you can stay connected by following me @Falastiniya97

Account Profile

I am analyzing my personal Twitter account, which I have been using since May 6, 2012. Of course, when I first signed up I was not very active, however; as I started tweeting, using hashtags, and gainig followers it became almost impossible for me not to use Twitter everyday.

With 1105 followers and a relatively steady growth rate, I try to remain as engaged as possible to keep my current followers and gain new ones as well. I mainly tweet my daily thoughts/ideas, political news, and the trending hashtag. The trending hashtag is especially important because it is how potential followers get to see my tweets, and retweet me too.

Above are my most engaged with tweets over 91 days. You can see the number of times each quote was seen, and also engaged with, meaning that people have expanded this particular tweets and clicked on the hashtags it contains as well as the people tagged in it, likes, avatar, retweets, and replies.

It was also obvious that the tweets with the most impressions and engagements are the same as the most retweeted tweets. This is because the more retweets I get, the more users see and interact with my tweet. So automatically the number of retweets would be directly correlated with the number of impressions and engagements.

The above screenshot, for example, depicts my activity through out the month of March.

Below are the top tweets in the months of October, November, December, January, February, and March.

October 2015
November 2015
December 2015
January 2016
February 2016
March 2016

According to the Twitter Analytics website, my current follower audience size is 58 more than the same time 90 days ago, with an average of 1 new follower per day.

User Demographics

More than half of my followers are males, with an 18% difference between both genders.

86% of my audience are from different Arab countries, but US ranks #1 among the overall number of followers with a 14% rate.

The majority of my followers speak either Arabic or English.

92% of my followers show music to be their top interest, and the least among their interests is World news with 56% followers rate.

I do not know why or how Twitter has chosen to classify my followers as such, especially considering that most of my tweets are either political ones, or ones about my daily ideas and interests.

My top follower is the Turkish News account, with 1.16 million followers. This is understandable because I tweet a lot about various political issues and news. Regardless of their large followers base, most of their tweets get less than 10 retweets since most people usually only read about politics and do not retweet the news.

This girl, with 243K followers is also among my top followers, since most of her tweets are random and spontaneous like a lot of mine. Many of her retweets reach more than 100 retweets and likes.

Moving on to social capital, which is basically the networks and relationships formed between people who live and interact together.

Virtually, Social Capital is formed between people who share similar interests and ideas. This is why each user follows and is followed by people who in a way think alike, even if there are no existing bonds between them, and they are spread apart vast geographical areas. Twitter allows this sort of interaction to happen, which is why any follow/like/tweet/retweet is part of each user’s social capital.

Twitter is used by many as a tool to promote themselves as individuals, or as companies. For me, as an aspiring journalist, I try to gain as much followers based on solid views and thoughts since a big part of today’s journalism methods depends on social media. Therefore, building a platform for myself is important and would help me later on with my career.

--

--