Don’t Drop the Mic Tiffany

Tales of first time comedians and what they learned from their experience getting on stage

Jim Ralley
Com4Com
3 min readNov 27, 2019

--

In Willy’s last article he talked about his first experience on stage, and explained why he invited all of his friends.

We thought we’d ask some Com4Com stand-up newbies what their experience was like. They’ve all made their onstage debut at our mental health comedy night That’s Mental.

We train newbies and put them onstage alongside professionals (to my knowledge, the only show that does that —heck yes that’s a brag). Pro-Newb-Pro-Newb-Pro. Back to back to back.

The last That’s Mental saw three newbies alongside people who have been on the actual TV. People like this person: Ahir Shah.

Ahir Shah — That’s M3ntal headliner

Ladies and gentlemen. Allow us to present. Comedy first-timer — Tiffany Trethowan

How would you describe your preparation for the show?

The family I’m from, the lifestyle I have and the way I view the world puts me in some funny scenarios and I enjoy telling others. Part of my preparation was living it, sharing it and noticing the reaction and then I put pen to paper.

I brainstormed 20 years of potentially funny ideas, categorised them (I like to be organised and have gone through some s***) and then expanded on them. I did think about who I was and how I could play on my characteristics. I had these notes jotted down before the comedy workshop run by Com4Com.

Tiffany on stage

Did you feel ready?

Largely yes because I had prepared, I had a positive perspective on it and if I’m completely honest, it felt like my calling. Stand-up has always been something inside me, waiting to be ignited. As soon as I saw the opportunity, I took it. Of course, 101 fearful thoughts crossed my mind, but I figured I’ve got to give this opportunity everything I’ve got and regardless I’ll hopefully be proud and meet likeminded people.

What do you remember of your performance?

I remember waiting…I was the act before the headliner…no pressure. For my own headspace, I decided to prepare in the green room instead of watching the entire show. I remember having the best feeling a human can have: ‘people’s laughter at something I had said’. The response was extremely supportive and positive. I also remember my mouth feeling like dry sand.

How did you feel after getting offstage?

Pumped. It was liberating, scary, different and fun all in one. Like riding a roller-coaster full of adrenaline.

What did people tell you afterwards?

I’ll never forget the headliner, Suzi Ruffell saying something positive as I came off stage (a blur now). Then catching her after the show and her telling me to keep at it. To have a top comedian like that take the time to make me accountable is something I’ll be forever grateful for. Another person said how impressed she was, as though I wasn’t a newbie in the field. Being told how natural I looked and as though I was enjoying myself meant an awful lot. Who doesn’t want to enjoy what they do and to a degree be natural at it?

Suzi Ruffell — That’s Menta1 headliner

Is there anything you feel like you’d do differently?

The night was themed around Mental Health so I don’t regret part of my preparation being on that, but I will continue to focus on my personal characteristics as opposed to a subject matter. The feedback on my delivery was positive and I like to practice what I’m saying, but if you are planning on giving comedy a go as a career, I would practice less word for word.

Do you want to get back onstage?

Yes, I do, I caught the bug!

Have you gone on since?

Yes! At the Comedy Store!

What are you working on to make sure next time you get onstage goes well?

I’m a big believer in lifelong learning in a variety of mediums. Learning from other comedians, revisiting my performance, reading stand-up books and always having a pen to hand.

That’s Mental is a thrice yearly comedy night in London. If you want to be a newbie performing on stage for the first time, next time, email Willy at arnold@com4com.website

--

--