Like Alice in Wonderland

Come As You Are Blog
Come As You Are Blog
2 min readFeb 3, 2016

“Here’s a freehand poem I wrote. I had a low weekend so it’s sort of my mind on a page.”

I’m stuck in a room,
Surrounded by walls.
Just black.
All I can see is a light through the crack.
Sometimes it is so bright
I can feel it’s warmth spread over me.
No longer scared,
Just happy.
I can almost taste the world of opportunity.
Through the hole I see The Outside,
The future.
But not mine.
I don’t exist on The Outside.
All the people I used to know,
To love
Are happily free.
They are explorers in a world further than the eye can see.
I want to call out to them,
To laugh, to cry, to feel something new.
But they don’t know I am here.

The walls are too thick,
And I am not strong enough to break them.
The longer I stay here the weaker I become.
The dimmer the light,
The darker the dark,
So as my view of life Outside begins to fade
I settle in for the long night ahead.
Who knows when the next light will come,
But I wait for it;
Alone in the darkness.

I don’t remember how I got here,
Perhaps I fell down a hole like Alice in Wonderland.
I wish I did remember
Perhaps then I would know the way out.
All I can do is pray.
Pray that next time they hear my cries
and drag me from this place.
I can’t do it alone.

I close my eyes and dream of the day I am fearless
And fresh air fills my lungs.
The day my heart beats to the track of a new song.

Author: Strider

Originally published at comeasyouareblog.com

--

--