Mind Over Matter

Come As You Are Blog
Come As You Are Blog
2 min readMar 7, 2016

I grew a pair of balls last month. FYI, I’m a girl.
But let me just say this: it’s the best thing that’s happened to me in a while.

Image Source: bizarro.com

Personal flaw: my bucket list is ridiculously long. Why? Because I have this fear of things not working out, making a fool of myself, getting hurt and have a tendency to talk myself out of what I want to do. But I’m aware of my flaws and enjoy actively working on them.

Idea: make a short, realistic list.

Action: every year, on my birthday, I write down what I would like to achieve this year.
Current situation: Recently turning 20 was quite big. I’m starting my twenties. I want them to be amazing. I will make them fun. So I thought of 5 words. These 5 words will be implemented into my everyday actions, thoughts and behaviours.

Examples: Perseverance and acceptance. Those are two of my 5 words. I will persevere with my ideas and goals. I will be more accepting of myself and my feelings.

But: Balance. Having a balance is important to me. Sometimes things throw me off my balance. But recently, I realised that a little clumsiness is okay. It’s actually pretty healthy when you’re a bit of a control freak.

Recommendation: chose 5 words that are realistic and can be applied to various areas of your life that you want to work on. It’s a gentle reminder to yourself of what you want to pursue. Yeah, staying on track is challenging. It’s easy to feel down, I know. But remembering the moment you decided on those 5 words is quite uplifting.

So back to my balls…

There were two things that I had wanted to do for a couple of months. Yes, I spent a couple months over-thinking them. That’s me for you. But hey, I finally did it.
Oh and guess what?!
It turned out fine. Things worked out for me.
Great confidence boost.

Result: I have been over-thinking less. If I want something, I go for it. If I feel something, I accept it, I explore it. The more you put yourself out there, the more rewarding it is when it works out. It’s the best, really. Trusting yourself. Laughing at yourself at little.

Caution: Obviously, you can’t control everything, nor should you try to. But that one time, where something that you worked towards becomes a personal success, amends for all the times when you were let down.
So, today, grow a pair and do something that’s been on your mind.

Honestly, I wish I’d done it sooner.

Author: wanderluster

Originally published at comeasyouareblog.com

--

--