The Mask

Come As You Are Blog
Come As You Are Blog
1 min readOct 5, 2015

The Mask

I wear this mask to cover my identity,

Not what I look like, but what I look like to other people.

If they see beyond my mask they might change their opinions of me.

I am a good person.

I love people and want to meet and talk with people.

But I feel I can’t connect with some people purely because of what I have come from.

This is why I wear this mask.

It enables me to connect with everyone.

I don’t know how much longer I can live with it on.

I can take it off when I’m alone.

But this is not enough.

The mask will always be with me.

For as long as I live.

Because of this world.

Social Inequality is why I wear this mask.

And this mask is why I suffer from depression.

Author: .kurt.

Originally published at comeasyouareblog.com

--

--