The Pub

Come As You Are Blog
Come As You Are Blog
1 min readOct 12, 2015

The Conversation

Depressed Friend 1: “Hey mate how are you?”

Depressed Friend 2: “Yeh I’m really good thanks, how you doing?”

Depressed Friend 1: “Ah that’s good to hear, yeh I’m not bad thanks mate.”

Depressed Friend 2: “Ah good.”

This is just a classic (dare I say British male) conversation that I myself have been involved with countless times at the local pub. It makes me laugh now just looking at it, but it happens every day. I mean it should really be found in an ironic joke book. But in reality it should never be allowed to happen. In my first post I mentioned that after a while I opened up to one of my best mates about my depression/anxiety and shock he was experiencing the same thing. But why did we never speak about it before! Why?! I mean, we just put on these masks and pretended we were fine when deep down we knew we were the worst we had ever felt. Yet, we refused to open up. What I’m trying to say is that I have realised now that your closest friends will never judge you for what you are experiencing. The chances are they have had the same experience! You will never find out unless you talk to one another guys. It helps BIG TIME.

Author: .kurt.

Originally published at comeasyouareblog.com

--

--