Dream Job Is a Dream

Josephat Shikuku
3 min readAug 23, 2021

--

From where you sit, what does ‘dream’ mean more than ‘job?’ I am positive that you hold an entirely different view of these two words from what I, or perhaps others, can see.

Photo by Magnet.me on Unsplash

Some say a dream is more important than a job. Others will not dare alter the phrase “dream job”. If you need my opinion, I suggest, a job without a dream is similar to dreaming and after you awaken you don’t remember what your dream was about.

It’s miserable if you cannot remember the dream you had last night, good or bad, then today will not be a good day, you can’t work, you suffer trying to remember it and assess it. If you do remember, it’s like being freed from prison.

A ‘dream job’ is a job that you’ve always dreamed of doing. But, don’t forget that your dream job is all just a dream; it represents an aspect of your vision.

Photo by Leon on Unsplash

Dreams can influence what you do in your job, but your job can never define your vision. Many are doing their dream jobs, but they have never stopped dreaming. They still want to try new career paths. Dreams never stop coming. So, what you may think was, or is your dream job is only a fraction of what you can do. We all can create jobs by working. Jobs come from within us. We all have the power to create jobs, depending on our ability, and aspirations. Moreover, we will the same way continue to seek new positions and make goals in the same way dreams never cease.

We should be grateful to have been the top student at school since this does not apply to everyone. I happen to be one of the lucky ones.

I enrolled as the final student for a two-and-a-half-year teaching course eight months later. I had to duplicate notes to get by the course. To cut the boring tale, I managed and scored a brilliant grade. The year I graduated, I won the top student award.

Unfortunately, I was studying for my family. It was my father and siblings who pushed me to be a teacher. I was unable to disillusion them, the reason it was the least demanding and most moderate then.

I’m talented, and my goal was to study music. I'm an avid music-maker who composes, sings, and plays several instruments.

Even though I taught in grade schools for three years before I went to college, I never really wanted to be a teacher.

If I ever had the chance to work on something amazing, I would be an author, lawyer or handling technical pieces of computers.

While I speak, I pay my bills by teaching, keeping busy with music, and doing freelance writing. I have been published in a few publications and am working on more. Nonetheless, I am in training for a career in the entertainment industry... I can't reveal details just yet!

As we conclude, we shall agree that the effort you put into your work matters a ton. Your ambitions will become a reality if you work hard. Focus on your dreams, and before you achieve a goal, you'll have realized that you are living your dream job, since your dream job is part of your dream.

--

--

Josephat Shikuku

Shikuku is a freelance writer, EC teacher, a poet, musician... He believes that readers deserve to access the right information.