Claws With Fangs 3.0 — a new version of a classic TNM improv group

A chat with the group’s founder Tami Nelson

Comedy Underground
Comedy Underground
2 min readApr 27, 2017

--

Comedy Underground: What’s the history of Claws with Fangs?

Tami Nelson: I started Claws at TNM Austin in 2011 because I was selfish. There were a handful of folks (Brittaney Wright, Danu Uribe, Yamina Khouane, Vanessa Gonzalez) with whom I really wanted to perform but had few opportunities to. Once Claws was assembled we discovered quickly that there was an ease to our performance birthed from an overwhelming mutual respect and trust. We kept it easy for ourselves and just PLAYED. Our shows felt simple, playful and fluid. We never pushed ourselves to be anything other than whatever organically came out of our dynamics. Once I relocated to New Orleans, I missed having a group that felt as comfortable and honest as Claws in Austin, and so, I got selfish again. I asked performers I had seen perform and looked up to to assemble a NOLA version of Claws and was delighted when they all agreed to pursue it (Lynae Leblanc, Cecile Monteyne, Grace Blakeman, Kate Adair, Brittaney Wright).

Why bring this project back?

Tami: I am overwhelmed by the level of talent that is surging though TNM. I am in awe of how quickly students become mind blowing performers. So, I again, selfishly, snagged players that I wanted to perform with. This time, however, I have had many years experience and wanted to curate a group that I felt hit on all cylinders. So with this newest cast of Claws I feel we have players who run the gamut; there is a full range of performer types in this group.

What can we expect from Claws with Fangs 3.0?

Tami: We are just really thrilled to get to perform together. We are in a giddy honeymoon phase of just being able to get on stage and say things out loud together. In our rehearsals we have had some splendid, brilliant, mind-massaging moments. We have also had stupid ass, knee slapping dumb dumb joke moments that feel just as inspired. I hope that we are able to constantly perform the kind of range that this sort of cast is capable of.

Claws With Fangs (version 3.0) includes Robin Johnstone, Maggie White, Christy Marino, Maggie Ritchie, Carrie Moulder, Alicia Hawkes, Tami Nelson, and Emily Slazer and debuts this Saturday, April 29th at 9:00p at The New Movement in New Orleans.

--

--