CSS Is Dead!

comiCSS cartoon for March 20, 2023

Alvaro Montoro
comi_CSS
1 min readMar 20, 2023

--

Cartoon in three panels: Death (a skeleton wearing a dark cloak with a smythe) receives a text message from JavaScript saying ‘CSS is dead!’ Disappointed, Death sighs: That guy is so annoying… Maybe it’s time I take anohter of its frameworks away…

The design for this cartoon was inspired by two different drawings that I saw on Dribble:

I also created an animated version of the cartoon, I hope you enjoy it:

It was actually a lot of fun trying to animate the drawing. I normally don’t do much animation, mostly just drawing –and of course laying out content and website styling, I mean from a creative perspective–. So it was quite a challenge, to be honest.

I liked the result, but I’m not fully sold on things like the eye movement or how Death restarts walking. I need to explore the animation and try to create new things that move and behave more naturally.

Links

--

--

Alvaro Montoro
comi_CSS

Full-Stack Software Engineer, Mobile Developer, Web technologies enthusiast. CSS aficionado. Twitter: @alvaro_montoro