4-Panel Comic (a.k.a #relatable)

Jessica Nautilus Kim
Dispatches from Comics Class
1 min readMay 20, 2017

I was intrigued by Scott McCloud’s idea of people not having a definite idea of what they look like (even mirrors aren’t 100% accurate), so the less detail something has, the easier it is for the readers to identify with the characters. On the contrary, the background is often shown in great detail to help the readers visualize the setting that they are in. The reader puts themselves into the realistic setting via the character who could be anyone.

Applying this idea to the assignment didn’t occur to me until I was doing sketches of my ideas. I showed them to my friend and she thought the fact the characters were stick figures was hilarious because she could imagine what faces the characters were making without seeing it, which made it funnier and more relatable.

--

--