How I Learned I CAN Draw (and that probably everyone else can too)

Nicole Lettenmaier-Scott
Dispatches from Comics Class
3 min readMay 23, 2017

It was a dark and stormy night. I sat in the corner of the room sipping on a Manhattan, the wreck of a maraschino cherry resting on the bottom of the glass. The drink was bitter, in fact too bitter, disgustingly bitter. I put it down — why had I been drinking this in the first place? I next casually flipped through the pages of a Kurt Vonnegut novel beside me on an end table. It was a little hard to read the words with all that flipping but I figured screw it, the cover told it all.

Page 1, Beyond
Page 2

All of sudden there was a scratch on the window. SCREEEE! I leapt at the sound. Despite my fear though I made myself look out the window. Beyond the pane a group of city buildings with menacing yellow eyes and jagged holes-for-mouths crowded around the window. ‘You CAN draw!’ they wailed, ‘You CAN draw!’ ‘And so can probably everyone else too!’ another kept insisting.

Page 3
Page 4
Page 5
Page 6

Well what else was to be done but to listen to them? I grabbed the nearest pen and paper and started drawing. And drawing I remained until the next day, and the day after that, and the day after that, and the day after that, and the day after that, then I took a day off but the day after that, and the day after that. And it was then that I knew I CAN draw, and so can probably anyone else that puts their mind to it.

Page 7
Page 8
Page 9
Page 10

Before that incident however I got to participate in CRWR 408Z. Finally a chance to sit around and work on comics! It was definitely this class that allowed me to create more than simple doodles — they’re now elite doodles with purpose and direction, and facial features. Throughout this post I’ve stuck pieces of a piece I started working on this semester. It’s entitled Beyond (or at least for the moment that’s what it’s called).

I’ve come to enjoy the world and characters so much that I’ve decided to expand on it, to see where the wind and water directs our bottles. So get prepared for more!

--

--