The one course that helped me self publish my comic

Evan Waterman
Dispatches from Comics Class
2 min readSep 23, 2017

Hey there. I’m Evan. A year ago I registered for CRWR 208 at UBC and now I’m a self published comic creator….

How the heck did that happen?!?

A page from my comic More Than Men

When I first entered comics class, I only had a vague idea of what making a comic actually entailed.

I had started writing for this comic idea I had but I didn’t really know what to do with it.

Throughout the term, I learned so many different things about the comic making process. I learned about narrative through the three act structure, I learned how page composition affects the emotion and flow of the page, I learned how to format a comic script so I can better convey my ideas to collaborators. The list goes on and on.

I began to compile notes of all the things I had learned so that I could apply them to the comic I was making. They helped immediately. My comic was beginning to take shape and it was thanks to the knowledge I gained from CRWR 208.

Another page from More Than Men

In class we were assigned to read Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud. I loved this book. Every page brought me more things to know about making comics and I couldn’t get enough. I read the whole thing.

By the end of the class, my notebook was full of useful information. Because it had been so helpful, I decided that even though the class was over, I wanted to keep my notes going.

And those notes I started a year ago are still around. In fact, they’re 78+ pages long and you can check them out HERE.

Spicy

And here we are now. Almost exactly a year later and that comic I was working on is finally complete.

If you want to check it out, you can download the full comic for FREE at my website: evanjwaterman.com/comic

--

--