Introduction

Emily Quintanilla
Coming of Age with Film
1 min readMar 6, 2021

There is an Oscar Wilde quote that goes:

“Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else’s opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation” (Wilde).

The beginning of the quote, in particular, resonates with me. “Most people are other people.” Wilde implies our personalities are not created in isolation. Rather, our personalities are built by taking from other people and things. We learn from who we know, what we see, and what we engage with. Ultimately, “borrowing” is essential to creating who you are as a person.

I, as a human being, have an understanding that I am a product of the world I live in. My “world” is vast. It contains my community, my family, my friends, my school, my hobbies, my interests, etc. For WP 2, I am interested in specifically exploring who I am. Or from Wilde’s perspective, what has made me, me?

Because I am a collection of experiences, this WP 2 reflects that collection. My WP 2 is loosely structured as an annotated bibliography, a format that allows me to provide commentary on sources (articles, movies, documentaries, etc.) that relate to my purpose. My sources are intertwined with personal anecdotes, creating a brief personal history.

It starts here.

--

--