From Princess to Film Director

Lucero Mendoza
COM 440: Digital Storytelling
3 min readDec 8, 2015

I believe that one of the things that make us interesting are our hobbies. I think our hobbies are the things we tell ourselves as kids we can be but as we grow up reality hits and we then see them as things we wish we were or could have been. Growing up I remember I wanted to be so many things. I wanted to be a vet, doctor, singer, explorer and princess.

As time passed by, most of these desires disappeared, all except one. I still want to be a princess. I want my first home to look like a castle. I’m not sure why I want to be a princess but I know I do. But, I’m not completely insane so I had a plan B. Go to college and get a degree! My mom taught my sisters and I that education is the one thing no one can take away from you at an early age. So when other decided to drop out of high school, I never thought of that as even an option. In the back of my mind I always presumed I would be attending college.

Although I started college as an International Business major, life was preparing my for my current major, Communication. During my senior year in High School I started working at a nursing home in the dietary department. I first start my washing dishes and serving up the food to the residents at the home. I eventually got moved to hostess and became closer to the residents. This new position gave me the chance to get to know them and their stories. We became so close that I remembered their drink order, their dietary restriction and their children’s names by heart.

This job helped me develop my communication stills with my co-workers, other staff, the residents and their families, and with my boss. I met so many important people through the residents at the nursing home. I learned how to communicate with different generations of people and I became more observant.

After I changed my major to Communication, I realized that film, writing, and directing were the thing I really wanted to do. I wanted to create something that would stand out. I wanted something different. I didn’t want something practical like being a doctor, instead I wanted something that spread hope, like being a princess. I wanted to create what we could be, what we can still be in a world full of dull reality. I believe that in majoring in Communication is like majoring in a hobby of mine. It is a huge part of who I am. I am more aware of my surroundings thanks to it.

--

--