Kindergarten Suspension

Michael
COM 440: Digital Storytelling
3 min readOct 30, 2017

One of the most memorable moments in my life would have to be when I was suspended from my kindergarten class. I never thought a student could be suspended from kindergarten until I got sent home for three days. At the time I was going to school in Manhattan and living with my grandmother and grandfather.

It all started at recess. I was with my good friends at the time, Alex, Edward and Angel. We were always together, during lunch, recess and sometimes even after school. Alex lived in the same building as I, and was very quiet until she was around us. Edward was the clumsy one, always getting into accidents. One of the memories I have of him was when he accidentally stabbed his chin with a very sharp pencil. He was sitting right next to me and all I remember is the huge puddle of blood on his desk. Last but not least, Angel, he was my best friend and the one person I trusted the most in the class. He was also living with his grandmother, who was a good friend of my grandmother.

Alex had the amazing idea of playing house, even though we were in a play ground. She assigned herself as the mother, Angel the father, Edward the son and I was assigned the dog. Yes, the dog. I never played the dog before in my life, I was always the father and sometimes even the mother.

I did everything a dog did. Run around, bark, stick my tongue out and bite. I remember chasing around Angel to the point where I bit his arm, and continued running around. I look back and he is bleeding like if he were to have gotten stabbed multiple times. My face was in total shock because I didn’t think I bit him that hard. Alex and Edward just looked at me and did not know what to do, so they called the teacher. Once the teacher saw all the blood she fainted. It was incredibly shocking to see how everything was going down. I was still standing in the same spot with the same shocking face, until the teacher’s assistant started to call all the kids to go back inside.

Angel was sent to the nurse’s office and I was sent to the principal’s office where my grandma was waiting for me. I could see it in her eyes how disappointed and angry she was, but she seemed surprisingly calm. It scared me even more how calm she was because I knew once I got home it was going to be the total opposite.

Three days later, It was finally time to go back to school and I was scared to see everyone again. The first person I saw was Angel, he ran towards me and gave me a huge hug. I was once again in shock because I thought he would never talk to me ever again, but our bond was so strong that it would have been stupid to break it because of the incident.

Till this day, I tell this story to almost every single person I meet because I find it so funny how I actually got suspended in kindergarten. I have not seen Angel since first grade but my grandmother still lives in the same bulding, as well as, Angel’s grandmother still lives in the same building. I always pass by there but never actually see Angel. I’ve heard that he has extremely long hair and is now a basketball player. I hope to one day reunite with him and ask him if he still remembers this. The one lesson I learned from this was to never play the dog again when playing house.

--

--