My Bedroom and ME

Hunter Treece
COM 440: Digital Storytelling
2 min readApr 25, 2019

Thinking of a special place for me was hard. Is it a place I have traveled to? Or a place I have yet to go? What place in my life gives me that feeling of being at home? That’s when It hit me, my home is a special place in my life. Obvious I know but to be more specific it’s my room that holds that special place in my heart.

Maybe it’s because I’m an only child and when I had nothing to do or nowhere to go it was my place to be. As college has taught me to appreciate, a room to myself can hold a lot of value. A value Mercyhurst prices around $4,500 a semester but that’s neither here nor there.

My room and I have been through a lot. In a lot of ways, we are similar. We grew up together. We changed together. We both hold a lot of personalities once you get to know us

My room always reflected me. When I was finally old enough to decorate my room, it was loaded with sports poster and figures from wall to wall. Not even an inch of white space could be found. Old hockey sticks hung from it and sports illustrated posted filled what was left. After high school, I did what was long overdue. I wasn’t that sports crazy 14-year-old that I once was and I took down most of everything. Filling my room with my new interest and hobbies. My desk was no longer cluttered with bobbleheads but held a record player insteadRo. Much like my own coming of age moment my room had its own too.

The personality just like the times when it changes. It goes throw the same fades and fazes of interests that I do. But unlike any other room mine is shy. Not a lot of people have been in to hung out in it. It’s not because it’s messy or in shambles but that only my close friends really have ever seen it. It’s a parallel between my room and me. To really get to see my room and my personality takes time and it doesn’t open up right away. Only a few truly know me personally and have really got to see the inside of my room

--

--