When my life began.

Liz Fischer
COM 440: Digital Storytelling
3 min readNov 16, 2016

Each story I have told, each event that I have gone to, each day, week or year is evolved around dance. Dance was my hobby since I was in pre-school. Then it became a sport during my middle school years, and a career in my high school days. Never did I think that I would be ending my four years of college with a BA in Dance and a BA in Communications to eventually go on to receive my MFA in Dance.

When I was three years old my mother signed me up for my first dance class. She never expects that this one day changed all of our lives. My mother being a stay at home mom was able to work when she wanted to and where she wanted to. After a few years of dance lessons, I started being more committed. This is when my mom received a job at my dance studio allowing me to take more classes and be involved as much as I could. My dad was a backstage helper until I was in middle school when he was promoted. I would assume that my father never expects to be involved with the arts and attend more than three dance performances a year. However, my passion I do believed made him find his passion in cycling.

Since I started dancing at such a young age I do not know a life without dance. I can think and visualize it however it is never a life I would want to live. Dance is communication through your body. You can say so much more in movement than in words. Dance transports you to another land that only you are on. It is freedom to express anything and everything.

Although I fell in love with dance at an early age, my mother was not convinced that at age seven I found my passion. Throughout middle schools I was involved in girl scouts, Spanish club, and even played soccer. Doing more activities made me realize that I really only wanted to dance. As much as my parents wanted me to be diverse and try new things, I knew what I wanted to do for the rest of my life before I even started living. As thankful as I am to my parents for letting me and making me try different things they made the best parenting decision of my life when I was three years old and walked in the studio for the first time.

--

--