Fake News, Fake News, Fake News

Anthony Zataray
COMM301
Published in
3 min readOct 12, 2018

Fake news, fake news, fake news, oh yeah fake news!

I recently started to learn about the wonderful world of politics, it is something for sure that I know very little about. So, naturally, where I started with my first political dose was with researching Donald Trump and listening to some of his speeches and his rants that he does at rallies. For one, he is very interesting and entertaining, I find myself very shocked about his demeanor as a speaker. He talks in real short sentences, gets off track very often, and talks in very simple terms. Also, one of the less eloquent speakers that I have witnessed, especially, with the position of president. Furthermore, I watched two of his speeches recently, the one he did in Arizona that went for 77 minutes and his speech that he did at CPAC. In both speeches he could not help himself to not only mention “fake news(fake media)”, but going on long drawn out rants about “these people” and calling out what they are going to say after the event, what they have done, and all kinds of unsupported retorts in the form of bashings.

I find this to be very interesting that he comes at the media so often, he seems obbsessed. Which to me, makes perfect sense because all I know about Trump is his crazy unfiltered self that he presents on Twitter. So, this being my only exposure, I already knew he is very outspoken through media. He loves making headlines and saying outrageous things that catches everybody's attention wether or not if they care about politics. This is where I make a few connections about his use of “fake news.”

I believe, that “fake news” in the way that Trump uses it has an ideological background to it. In clearer terms Trump has an agenda with the use of “fake news” and has created it into a monster tool. Fake news before Trump was just a term that meant something in the media is false, and honestly happened seldom because creadible news reporting goes through a number of protocols to achieve a standard of validity and truth or at least this is a truth we believe for sure.

Here, is where its interesting, notice I said that last part, “at least this is a truth we believe for sure” now why did I add this? Because with all this “fake news” talk I know longer trust media as much as I once did before, and this is what Trump is doing. His ideology behind fake news is one that is creating an idea about media that reach pass the definition of the phrase fake news. It does not just mean false reporting anymore, the new idea that is created for this phrase is one that is associated with Donald Trump, major news networks, social media, and whatever else comes to mind. In short, it has everybody questioning what is truth, what is actual news, and what is fake news. If you do not believe me, google “fake news” and Donald Trump and everything else I just mentioned is at the top of the listings. The wild fire spread of this idea of fake news has created uncertainty, but also, more fake news then ever!

So, what does all this mean, well it means, that with an unsure public, truth now can be replaced with opinion. Opinion, matters more then truth now a days, and as a result truth has become what can you get away with and what you can convince people of. “Fake news” is today’s propaganda for Trump in his efforts to sway people now with facts and actual reality, but with bias opinion.

--

--

Anthony Zataray
COMM301
Editor for

I am college student majoring in psychology and media communications. My hope is that you find my writting to be funny, insightful, and enjoyable. Mr. Nasty!