#HimToo & The Ruling Class

Josias Parker
COMM301
Published in
2 min readOct 12, 2018

I will be writing about the origins of the #HimToo movement and how it shocked the internet. This all began when a mother tweeted this about her, but was then later deleted.

“This is MY son. He graduated #1 in boot camp. He was awarded the USO award. He was #1 in A school. He is a gentleman who respects women. He won’t go on solo dates due to the current climate of false sexual accusations by radical feminists with an axe to grind. I VOTE. #HimToo,”

Unfortunately the son, Pieter Hanson, was unaware of this post until the internet exploded and a friend told him about it. Completely disagreeing with the post, Hanson created an account just to respond to the chaos.

“That was my Mom. Sometimes the people we love do things that hurt us without realizing it. Let’s turn this around. I respect and #BelieveWomen . I never have and never will support #HimToo . I’m a proud Navy vet, Cat Dad and Ally. Also, Twitter, your meme game is on point.”

This story was picked up by all the news outlets. I will be using Karl Marx — ‘The Ruling Class and The Ruling Ideas’ to dissect news coverage of this event and how the ruling class spreads its ideologies through these outlets. I will also be discussing how by using enthymemes in the rhetoric of this news story deprives the audience of specific reason.

--

--