My Political Compass

Jake Vanwey
COMM301
Published in
2 min readSep 28, 2018

When people write in the media it is obvious that most times we can see political bias. I have never paid much attention into looking more into my political bias. After doing this assignment I see that there is importance to having your voice, and knowing your political beliefs. After taking the political test, and getting my 8 values results it shows that I am a social libertarian/authority, along with being a close match to Christian Democracy.

We will be looking at a Stanford business article that writes that liberals, and libertarians have it wrong. I have always grown up in a very conservative home, so if one were to ask me what my political views were I would have definitely said conservative because that is what my family is. Since being at school I feel as if my perspective has widened and I know I see a lot of things a bit differently. My results definitely are a testimony of that. Though I am not a extreme libertarian my results do lean more towards the liberal views. The Stanford business article states

“While the two authors ask conservatives to recognize that income inequality threatens growth, they also show liberals that government regulation, if misguided or badly constructed, can do more harm than good by increasing inequality.”

I can see where the conservative party believes that this is going to threaten growth. Libertarians are very free thinkers who think that everyone should have a say no matter class or race. This can be unrealistic at times I guess one could say, and like this quote says it could threaten growth in the United States. This article concludes with a dagger of a closing statement

“If we can’t get back to inclusive prosperity, that calls into significant question how much integrity liberal democracy will be able to retain going forward. The stakes are high.”

Fan, Ruiping. “How Should We Solve Moral Dissensus? Liberals and Libertarians Have It All Wrong.” Philosophical Studies in Contemporary Culture Reconstructionist Confucianism, 2009, pp. 189–213., doi:10.1007/978–90–481–3156–3_12.

--

--