Image from Wikipedia

You ever hear a song for the very first time, and think it sounds familiar ?

As talked about in my last writing, I decided to discover more punk music over the last summer, using The Offspring as the basis on which to start. I have known about the band since the days of Rock Band, but I guess I wasn’t a fan of them til around the time of my effusion in 8th grade. Well as the years went on, I started listening to more songs by them, including “All I Want,” which almost every gamer knows from Crazy Taxi, and my taste for them grew. Well in that same summer that I learned more about my love for Punk music, this song came across my Spotify.

Second chances are everything, I guess, as when I first heard Hit That, I hated it. But as I listened to it again, I enjoyed it for the funky beat and the fact that it felt like a commentary on modern life. I say that because of lines like this: “ What was a family, Is now a shell, We’re raising kids now, Who raise themselves, Sex is a weapon, It’s like a drug.” For a song written in 2003, that line still feels prevalent today. And for some reason, I love the line “Why not, take a chance, everything’s a game.”

But how does it hold up in the way it represents gender ? Well to me, like with Twisted, this is a case of both genders being treated the same, but wrong for both. This song makes it seem like both men and women are tied in a relationship, because of a kid, and want to cheat on the other parent. Both choruses state one gender cheating on the other, and using the line “ I know you wanna hit that.” This implying that both are seeking sex from other partners and not with the other parent of the kid. Guess this fits with the whole “Sex is a drug” idea from earlier.

I love this song for the catchy way it comments on the world today, but I am not sure that it treats the scenario just right. I know of a few couples who got together because of a kid and love each other, but I also know of some who don’t. So I guess it goes both ways. All in all, catchy and interesting. Now about that music video…

Image from ContactMusic.net

What even is that ?!You be the judge of this one. I’m out!

--

--