Good for you, but not for me?

Hope Brakenhoff
COMM430GU
Published in
2 min readFeb 22, 2018

In Selena Gomez’s song “Good For You,” she takes three and a half minutes to talk about looking good…for him. The song is about her dressing up and doing her makeup to look good for her man. The lyrics say,

“Cause I just wanna look good for you, good for you
I just wanna look good for you, good for you
Let me show you how proud I am to be yours
Leave this dress a mess on the floor
And still look good for you, good for you”

She portrays herself as an object for the man throughout the song and in the music video. While I don’t think there is anything wrong with wanting to look good for the person you love, the way the song portrays it makes it seem like she is just an object for the man to enjoy.

Rather than looking good for him, the song should be about looking good for herself. We shouldn’t have to dress up to impress other people. Dressing up should be about making ourselves feel beautiful for us. I think dressing up and wearing makeup and putting on that image can really give a girl a lot of confidence, but I think the reasoning for getting all dolled up should be for ourselves and not for the enjoyment of other people. We shouldn’t lessen ourselves to that standard.

--

--