Allison Maralee Perry
COMM430GU
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2018

--

I Belong to Myself

When I first heard the song Belong to You by Sabrina Claudio, of course I imagined it being a song for a lover.

With lyrics like,

“ Talk all day then at night fall in deep
Stimulate me
I want you mental and physically”

and

“ Grab hold of me
Gentle love but touch passionately
I’ll give you my blessing
Take me person and objectively
Ex and internally”

this song definitely has a seductive feel to it.

However, in her genius.com interview Sabrina Claudio said, “ when I was writing it, I was imagining to be about myself. It’s a pretty simple song, you can relate it to anything. But me, I was talking about myself.”

After reading the genius interview, I realized that that made a lot of sense. Especially considering she even used a photo of herself in a mirror as the promo picture for the song.

So what does it mean that I interpreted it differently? Why did I at first interpret this song to be about a lover, rather than loving oneself?

In this society we are often taught to look forward to finding love in another person. We are often taught to believe that life is incomplete until we find another human being to love, physically, mentally, and emotionally. How would life and our outlook on life differ if we were taught to love ourselves physically, mentally, and emotionally first?

--

--