Not a Gold Digger

Zackery Silvas
COMM430GU
Published in
2 min readApr 13, 2018

In the eyes of many, a man that has a abundance of money will most likely have the attention of a certain type of girl known as Gold Digger. With gold digging being wrong in so many ways, but what happens when thats the only way you can make it through life.

In the song Just a stranger Ft Steve Lacy, off of Uchis’ new album, She has a narrative of a man and woman talking about what they think is happening with their situation. Uchis is talking about how she is justified in her ways and doesn’t see it as Gold Digging, while Lacy is saying that she just wants him from her money.

She wants my hundred dollar bills, she don’t want love
She wants my hundred dollar bills, she don’t want love
She wants my hundreds
Oh, she wants my hundreds

In response to that, Uchis says that would you do the same thing if you were in that persons shoes too.

If the devil was asleep, she’d knock him wide awake
And if you were her, you’d never know
I think you’d do it too

She also isn't responding to lacy’s verses but is talking about the people who are from looking outside in and don’t understand who she is as a person and the situation that she is in in life.

No, you never knew me then and you’ll never know me now
When bellies are hungry, but there ain’t no money you get it and don’t care how
Be the one that everyone likes, just approval ’til they die
I’m the one they love to hate, I’m the one who will survive

The reason why I think this song is Unique is because she is trying to get rid of the gold digging trope and that also that everybody is just a stranger to her and that their idea of her is twisted and should really get to know who she really is.

--

--