The Huntress

Megan Burns
COMM430GU
Published in
2 min readApr 6, 2018

My media blog this week is a little different than normal. Normally I would pick a song, movie, tv show, etc. to write about. Instead I want to pick advertisements. Not just one, but a whole group.

In class recently, we have been talking about the frail masculinity. Which, I agree some products for men are silly. But, those items are still functional. What I want to argue, well at least point out, is the things that are made specifically for women. Especially, since they are not all functional. Of course I have a specific thing in mind, that has been bothering me since we started this unit.

The issue that I want to address is women in hunting. Now, I am baised becasue my entire family hunts, as do I. Most of the clothing/gear that I use is hand-me-downs from my brothers, so I don’t have a problem finding what I need. But, the bigger problem at hand, is that companies feel the need to make camo pink in order to market it to women. The pictures above and below are a seach of a popular camo brand in men’s and women’s.

Now, if you don’t hunt. I could see how this seems fair. But, let me explain. Man bread is silly, but it is still bread and still edible. When hunting the point is to blend into your surroundings. You are sitting in the woods, and you don’t want to be seen by the animal you are hunting. Let’s take deer for example. Hunters wear camo, sit high in trees, and sometimes use scent block to stay undetected. So, you can see where pink camo would be a problem. I have never seen pink trees in the woods. This further proves my point that pink camo is not functional for its intended purpose. Therefore, companies are trying to target women by simply putting pink in the camp, which in turn defeats the purpose.

--

--