Thru Your Phone

Allison Maralee Perry
COMM430GU
Published in
2 min readApr 6, 2018

Yesterday, Cardi B released a new album titled Invasion of Privacy. While I, personally, do not really listen to Cardi B much, she is a very prominent artist among many of the people I follow on Twitter, so I come across posts about her pretty often.

This morning, a post I came across was a snippet from Cardi B’s new song “Thru Your Phone.” I listened to it and although I wasn’t shocked by the lyrics, I knew something needed to be said about them, so I listened to the entire song.

First of all, I am a firm believer that if you don’t trust someone enough to keep from going through their phone, you really shouldn’t be with them. This is a problem among many couples these days, of all ages, and it’s unhealthy. Relationships based on trust issues and snooping are unhealthy relationships, and they are way too common these days.

My next problem with this song is that it encourages putting women’s bodies on blast.

I screenshotted all her naked pics/
Oh, you wanna send nudes to my man?/
Wake up and see your boobs on the ‘gram?

I understand what the betrayal would be like to find naked pictures of another person on your significant other’s phone. However, there is absolutely no chance that I would ever take pictures of someone else’s body and post them online, no matter what they did to me. As a woman, I feel it’s one of my jobs to protect other women, even if they hurt me. In a situation like this, it’s best to talk face to face with the person whose pictures were in the phone, or even simply ignore it (although, that’s a little tough.) No one should ever use someone’s body against them.

The rest of the song is basically about how hurt she is and how pissed she is.

Today we see these things too often. Trust issues and “getting back” at people. I don’t necessarily have the perfect answer to how to handle situations like these, but I do disagree with what Cardi B is getting at in this song.

--

--