What if God Was Black?

Anthony Zataray
COMM430GU
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2018

I decided to watch Evan Almighty the other night, but it was really just to put on for back round noise to have on while I sleep. I winded up staying up for the hour an forty eight movie run time, and messing up my sleep schedule. I noticed some pretty stereotypical gender and race roles within it like all the politicians being white middle age men, except for the assistant who was an African American women, but they couldn’t help, but to make her solely to be laughed at cause of her sass.

What really stood out to me about this movie though, was that Morgan Freeman played the role of God. I know Morgan is famous for kind of being “God” because he is always the voice you hear and the face you never see playing the narrator of movies like in World at War for example. Morgan Freeman actually played God in this movie was so interesting to me because it made me think, what if God was black?

Would this change anything? Would this make the world different, if from the beginning of mankind we assumed and accepted God as black? This really leads me down a rabbit hole as I start to think about it because the writers and storytellers of the Bible were white, and they said “we are made in the image of God”…. Wow! Let that sink in for a moment…

If we are made in the image of God, and God is white, naturally I feel this already instills supremacy thinking of all other colors and ethnicities. Don’t you think? If God were to be originally accepted and drawn as an African American, would this have potential to change white dominance that we have in this country? Would slavery even of happened? I don’t know I am sorry I am doing more asking then answer, but I am really just writing this one to start debates, and get the wheels turning about this.

But that’s all I have for you guys today! Hope you guys sit and ponder about that for a bit, have a good one.

Mr. Nasty!

--

--

Anthony Zataray
COMM430GU

I am college student majoring in psychology and media communications. My hope is that you find my writting to be funny, insightful, and enjoyable. Mr. Nasty!