Command+N #3

⌘N — Weekly curated articles by Pizza Yap

Pizza Yap🍕
Command+N
3 min readApr 25, 2017

--

Last two weeks are the busy week for me, and too bad I fell sick. Feels weak for about few days and not having a very productive time when getting recover. But nowadays information is just within your hand, and I use my very least energy to pick up my phone and read something that won’t make me feels asleep. 😅 Hope you guys still enjoy this issue. 🙏

With Sketch 43, Design IS Code & Code IS Design by Andree @blended.io

Sketch have a new version 43 just launched last week! It is not a very prominent update by looking at the feature list. By the way, I have covered some of the excellent Sketch features here, here and here! 😁

But actually, they have made a great big move with their file format! The file comes with the JSON format that rejoiced a lot of engineers that very fond into Sketch.

Teams can go straight from design into code without mundane frontend development

Here is one of the example from my idol Jon Gold using the new Sketch file format, edit in the CODE and reflect back to the Sketch file! This kind of format opens up a lot of possibilities to make Sketch a more powerful tool. For instance, convert your Sketch into a Living Styleguide and other ideas that you will think.

Why You Should Design To Develop by Isaac Barrel

One of the important knowledge designers must know how to work smoothly with developers. Working with developers not required you to know how to code. Instead, there is some common practice that everyone should be aware of files organization and design documentation.

it always pays to be kind to your developer.

Alex Schleifer: Designing the Perfect In-House Partnerships from 99U

Find out how Airbnb’s VP of design Alex Schleifer solve design problems, designer, and engineer workflow, career path and his journey with his digital design agency Sideshow before acquired by another company.

So just make sure that you don’t fall out of love with designing something because you are not designing it in ways that enrich you.

Don’t Work Harder, Work Faster from 99U

Hmm…for me is work harder, work faster, fail often, learn even more faster.😁

be much faster in the hours you’re already in. Train yourself to do a little bit more in each hour than you normally would. Every day add something, and get it all done.

CodePen Projects

A wow tools that launch by CodePen called CodePen Projects! Now if you’re a Pro user you can start using this feature as your primary development workflow! Our developers at Minitheory Design are amazed by the power of this tool like the Zero-Setup Preprocessing. 👍 Give it a try now!

The 5 reasons why I paid $5 for Medium membership by Jessica Semaan

Excellent break down by Jessica Semaan again about Medium new membership benefits! I’m going to subscribe the membership once I got my salary next month because I don’t want Medium to fail too! 🙌

Kickstarter Project That I Like, Penna — Retro Bluetooth Keyboard, Starting as low as $99

This is so nostalgic! Should I back? 🤔

Thanks for reading until the end! Please hit 💙 if you learned and enjoyed this issue. Your appreciation makes me want to write more! The next issue of ⌘N will be available next week, stay tuned!

Follow me on Twitter, Flipboard, Instagram to find out what’s in my mind.
_
My name is Pizza Yap (Kwang Yik), Senior UI Designer work at
Minitheory, a digital design studio based in sunny Singapore. We make software straightforward and kickass, based on how people think and behave.

--

--

Pizza Yap🍕
Command+N

Product Designer in DesignOps at Grab Singapore | Design System | Writer | Design Tools Reviewer | Maker