You are not a Real Estate Investor

Garrett Zander
The Commercial Real Estate Daily
2 min readOct 15, 2015

We all call ourselves Real Estate Investors. But are we? The answer is no. A Real Estate Investor is someone who buys properties and HOLDS them. A landlord is a Real Estate Investor or a private money lender is an investor.

In the world of wholesaling, are main objective is lead generation. That is why I say we are Real Estate Marketers and not investors. Think about it, what do you need most in your wholesaling business? LEADS. Motivated sellers and the like. How do you get those leads? By MARKETING. By being a full time marketer. Marketing comes in many forms, word of mouth, direct mail, internet marketing, business cards, signs etc.

This business begins and ends with your marketing strategy and execution. There are plenty of ways to market for leads, pick the ones you like and DO THEM. And do them ALL the time. I cannot stress enough how important your pipeline is in this business. FILL it.

When someone asks you what you do, do not say “I am a Real Estate Investor” Say “I buy and sell houses”. I’ve been saying that for years, and it usually garnishes a response that leads to a conversation. “Oh like a real estate agent?” “Oh no, like that show Flip this House on TV, I do that” Then I casually let these people know that if they know anyone who needs to sell their house or if they know of any vacant properties in their neighborhood to give me that info and I will pay them a $1,000 referral fee. MARKETING, all the time.

We are Real Estate Marketers.

--

--

Garrett Zander
The Commercial Real Estate Daily

Real estate investor. Work out enthusiasts. Mentor/Coach for anyone who wants to lose body fat or flip a house