Essential Writing Tools

Mike Connell
Communative
Published in
11 min readApr 27, 2020

--

Photo source: Shutterstock

I was originally going to call this article “Essential Writing Tools for Communicators,” but I decided that this information is just too good to closet within one group.

The whole world would benefit from this list, I said to myself.

And then I thought (also to myself — I’m my own best audience), perhaps it should be “Essential Creative Writing Tools.”

SEO implications aside, I was irked by the exclusionary feel of “creative.” These tools, and these thoughts aren’t just for creative writers.

So, “Essential Writing Tools.”

I’ve written before about how important writing is.

Not this kind of writing, although that’s important as well.

No, I’m talking about creative writing. Once-upon-a-time-type writing.

Creative writing is an exercise in self-discovery, organization, and, of course, creativity that can be pivotal in improving your other writing (blog posts, articles, research reports, case studies, business plans, etc.).

Regardless of how much writing you think you have to do in your particular professional role, you still need to develop, adapt, and constantly improve upon your writing voice and style.

Two people with the same references, resources, and context stand a…

--

--