Diving into Our Desk Space

Kaitlyn Marquette
Moncur's Communi-Creations
5 min readNov 12, 2018

I recently started as a designer here at Moncur, and was amazed by how much I could learn about my new coworkers from simply spending a few minutes near their workspace.

As we all know, work is typically our “home away from home.” After all, many of us spend more time at the office than at home throughout the week. The average American spends 90,000 hours at work over their lifetime. So naturally, we want to make our desk space feel homey and express our personalities. Whether it be hanging pictures of our family, friends or even our beloved pets, decorating the walls with inspirational artwork, setting our favorite trinkets next to our computers or adding soothing/uplifting scents with a diffuser, everyone’s desk gives us a little glimpse into who they are. As you walk through the office at Moncur you can see that no two desks are alike! Let’s take a more in-depth look shall we…

Recently, I polled Team Moncur, asking two questions about their workspaces:

1. If you were to describe your desk decor style in just a few words, what would they be?

2. How does the way you decorate your desk align with your personality?

They responded…

Kaitlyn Marquette (Me) | Designer

I’d describe my desk decor style as warm, fun and cozy.

I like to make my space my own by adding personal touches, like hanging pictures of my friends, family, my boyfriend and I and of course my dog. I consider myself a Disney enthusiast so I have a few Disney items at my desk, such as a gold Mickey plush, a Disney calendar and a few smaller plush characters from my favorite Disney movie (if you’re wondering it’s Lion King). Lastly, I’ve added a few lamps and a succulent to bring warmth and life to my desk space — after all I am a creative thinker, I want to have a desk space that feels inspiring!

Marty Smith | Art Director

So currently my workspace could be described as ‘bland, simple and organized’ which doesn’t truly reflect my character at all. Perhaps it could reflect the fact that I have very few possessions from my recent transition to the States and I’m in the process of re-creating my own brand & identity.

I have no doubt things will change…

Alex Caryl | Junior Designer

I would describe my desk in just a few simple words as subtle, clean, and organized!

When it comes to my personality well, at first I am quiet, kind of shy (subtle). I try to have a clean appearance, that goes with good hygiene. If I don’t I expect someone to corner me in the office and really lay into me, maybe hose me down! Me as a organized person, well I try to be! I definitely shoot for that. I would say my house and my belongings aren’t always in line with this but it’s something I strive for!

Jen Cooper | Designer

I would describe my desk décor as cozy, homey, and gold. I like to feel as at home as possible and I have a lot of gold accents.

I am a little OCD about organizing so I like to have a place for everything, I don’t like when things are out of place. If my desk is organized, then I feel organized. If my desk is a mess, then I feel stressed.

Megan Zale | Senior Copywriter / Strategist

My desk is colorful, fun, and happy! If I’m not busy, I’m bored, so I make sure that my desk space has a lot of eye-catching colors, fun textures, interactive activities, and inspirational messages to keep my brain stimulated!

Michael McConnell | Writer

My desk is minimal, but messy.

I’m really a lot more organized than this, I swear!

Angeline D’Balentine | Project Manager

I have a designated “team-share” spot at my desk. I do that to give a platform for talking points when people visit my desk, and also help others to know a little more about who I may be on any given day; whether I’m creative, a smart-ass, or mentor that day. This spot shows a little bit of my personality. As you may see in this image this week is a joke about this “isn’t my circus, not my monkeys — my monkeys fly.” That is my smart-ass mode. 😉

You will also see some of my own illustration work — me as a Disney selfie with my red curls and my favorite band, Pink Floyd, on my T-shirt. The “Deal with This” sticky notes are a gift from a co-worker. The two plants are just décor — the cactus is named Prick. He can be a real jerk sometimes and bites. Hence, Prick.

To stay up to date on the latest Moncur happenings, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram!

Moncur is a branding + digital agency. Leveraging our specialized expertise in strategic messaging, branding, advanced technology website development, and integrated digital marketing, we help large B2B companies brand, market, and sell what they do online. Learn more at www.thinkmoncur.com.

--

--

Kaitlyn Marquette
Moncur's Communi-Creations

Designer. Social Butterfly. Disney Enthusiast. Jesus Follower.