Stress-Fighting Tips, Unite!

Moncur
Moncur's Communi-Creations
5 min readNov 1, 2017

Fast-approaching deadlines, competing priorities, sky-high quality standards… the stresses of agency life are plentiful. But here at Moncur, we don’t let a little stress get in the way of creating beautiful communications, rather, we find productive ways to wrangle our anxieties.

Whether we head outdoors or to the beer fridge, we all have our own unique ways of managing stress. In the spirit of National Stress Awareness Day, our team members share some of their top tips for kicking their mind-racing, nail-biting, productivity-paralyzing troubles to the curb.

Audrey Small, Designer

Stressed is my natural state of being and honestly and I’m not entirely great at handling it, just ask my orthodontist. However, I have found a few things that help:

1. Taking a lot of breaks. My favorite is walking around the parking lot, which is particularly amazing now that there’s an abundance of dead leaves to stomp around in.

2. Playing music at a level that is likely unhealthy… The classic “la la la, I can’t hear you” trick.

3. Yoga in the office–although this one may actually cause me more stress than it removes; because more often than not I end up rushing through, hoping to finish before anyone finds me being weird.

Beth Smith, Senior Copywriter

When I’m stressed at work I do a few different things. Sometimes I use scents to boost my mood (I have a perfume that is literally called “Happy”). Sometimes I put on soothing soundscapes and try to take a few deep breaths. Sometimes I get up and stretch, its surprising how much that helps. Sometimes I just eat chocolate.

Viridi App

One thing that I have found that helps me reduce and gauge stress is a free app called Viridi. It lets you grow a virtual succulent garden (‘cause real plants don’t stand a chance with me). The app is super simple — you just log in and check on which plants need water and take out the weeds. That’s it. I’ve found that by making checking on my virtual plants a regular habit, it’s a good way for me to recognize when I’m overloaded (when it’s full of weeds and every plant needs water.)

Clay Carpenter, Senior Designer

I manage stress by doing a five finger exercise:

Touch your thumb to your index finger. Deep calming breath
Touch your thumb to your middle finger. Deep calming breath
Touch your thumb to your ring finger. Deep calming breath
Touch your thumb to your little finger. Deep calming breath…

Then Repeat

If that doesn’t work, I close my eyes and picture myself driving into corner 5 at Road America Raceway. I take a deep breath, watch the corners markers fly by 5…4…3…2, jump on the brakes, down-shift, brake once more (that moment is zen), then settle in for a perfect apex of the corner. Sometimes I keep this visualization going up Fireman’s hill and all the way through to Canada Corner.

Laynie Perry, Junior Content Designer

Stress is my nail-biting, loud-sighing, wild-eyed, panic-mode partner in crying. Have you seen Pixar’s Inside Out? Anger and Fear like to run my control panel. Thankfully, over the years, I’ve trial-and-errored my way into finding antidotes for stressin’ out.

We’ll start at work… Coffee. There’s a certain anti-stress joy about caffeine, in moderation. On particularly tough days, whether it be workload or personal stress, I throw on the sweet stylings of John Mayer to regain some chill and focus (I recommend Gravity). Otherwise, I take five. Step out to take a breather, be self-aware, be here and now. Focus, regroup, then keep bossin’.

Now, if you know Michigan, you understand the daily traffic brawl. Insert Carpool Karaoke. Thankfully, I’m the only one in my carpool. But there may be a hitchhiking spider harmonizing. Put on an Ariana Grande x Beyonce quality production, safely, in the confines if your vehicle. Have a good stress-relieving yell, but to the tune of Single Ladies.

At home, stress draws me to my bed. I’ve found meditation and a nap to be a solid solution. But if you’re not cool with going AWOL for 3 hours like me, turn to your friends in a group chat for a venting session. I’ve found that de-stressing has more to do with acknowledging feelings than ignoring them, and the healthiest route is always the best route for the long-term. …Also dogs are like silent therapists. Five stars.

Chris Vermeren, Senior Programmer

Close Outlook (no email notifications), turn-up the music and slide further down into my chair.

See no evil. Hear no evil. Speak A LOT of evil (curse, sometimes, under my breath). :)

After many years of letting stress control me, I realized the impact it was having on my health and happiness wasn’t worth it. I hated the stressed-out version of myself, because it wasn’t the person I wanted to be. I simply make a conscious choice every day not to lose myself in the chaos, otherwise known as stress. I decided to stop killing myself over the things I cannot change and, instead, focus on living life with the satisfaction that I have done everything within my power to make today the best day it can be.

Megan Zale, Senior Copywriter

When I’m feeling the stress starting to bubble at work, I’ll take a walk outside—the fresh air does wonders. If I can’t get outside, I’ll grab my handy-dandy thinking putty—it’s a dense “slime” that I can fidget with while I try to regain control over my racing brain. I’m also a big fan of essential oils. I have an “anxiety ease” blend that I’ll roll on the back of my neck when I’m feeling overwhelmed to help me focus on what’s important: getting shit done!

Michelle Walton, Art Director

This magic bottle of goodness allows me to reduce stress, moisturize my hands and smell delicious all within a matter of seconds.

Have tips to add to our list? We’d love to hear ‘em! Share your ideas in the comments below!

Moncur is a digital and branding agency with locations in Detroit, Michigan; Miami, Florida; and Austin, Texas. Learn more at www.thinkmoncur.com.

--

--