Futura Poster

Chris Feng
Communication Design Fundamentals (F16)
3 min readOct 6, 2016

The overall topic around the third assignment for our Communication Design Fundamentals class is “type”. The final part of this assignment is making a type poster and my typeface is Future. I started off researching the history, stories and features of my type face, recorded them and grouped them into paragraphs.

Research results about Futura

I then proceeded to sketching a few general composition for the poster on my sketch book. These sketches are all made very fast and without lot of details about the content, but shows the overall organization of the information on the poster.

Initial sketches

I landed on a few concepts that I thought are interesting to explore and digitalized them in Illustrator.

One early concept
An visual exploration

I decided to divide the content into three main parts: the history, the bio and an anatomy of the geometry of the types. I then put these content on to the poster and combined with the visual elements I had been playing around with; the word became one more integrated piece.

The blue color is kind of off

The composition of this piece doesn’t seem that exciting. The contents form three vertical lines without too much variation; its merely a plain presentation of all the information. To make it look visually more interesting, I played around with the composition a bit added more color to it.

With geometric forms

I kept the top left “cluster of letters” design originally an then I realized it doesn’t really go along with the other simple and clean geometric forms. I then landed on this.

To add more variation and visual interest, I cut out the types on the pink circle and landed on my final piece.

Final piece

--

--