Project 3 — Poster Design

My final work.

The font I picked was Times, which was originally used by the Times newspaper from London. I came up with several general ideas on my sketch book and one of them is to make the poster look like a newspaper.

These are some of my trials.

The first version seems lack of contrast between the background and the text. I was also suggested to create more pictures. So here is the second version.

Although the contrast was brought out, overall the poster has many problems:

a. too much texts!

b. “economy of space” appeared twice which is redundant

c. can’t tell the designer and year of publishing easily (these are 2 most important information)

d. the spacing in the left part is still needed to be adjusted

So how to make the poster possess some newspaper elements without making it too text-heavy became one of the hardest problem for me. Finally I rotated the poster a little bit and found a good solution.

Now we can tell it looks like a newspaper but the text is less crowded. This is pretty much my final version. The only nuances were I added up some minor texts to fill the left up corner.

--

--