CDF P3 Exercise

Natalya Buchwald
Communication Design Fundamentals F17
3 min readSep 19, 2017

Type Tracing

Before fill-in

Before filling in the type faces, I noticed the line weight differences between the serifs and the san-serifs. Specifically, Didot stood out to me for having thin lines compared to Futura’s heavy lines.

After fill-in

After filling in the type faces, I noticed the how the thinness/thickness of each letter really added to the general effect and meaning overall.

Typographic Voice

Serendipity is a “happy coincidence.” I wanted to find fonts that were light-hearted and carefree. I also wanted to find fonts that do not appear super exact or planned out.

Marion 64 pt

I decided to play with serifs and found Marion to be very elegant. The kerning is very equal and the x-heigt is consistent.

Bodoni 72 68 pt

Bodoni, compared to Marion, stretched out more. Specifically, the e’s differed from Marion’s centered approach. In my opinion, this gave Bodoni a less exact and more playful font. Overall, I believed Bodoni 72 expressed serendipity the most.

Brush Script MT Italic 82 pt

After serifs, I wanted to play with script to emulate a carefree, handwritten note. However, Brush Script proved to be too heavy for the word’s meaning.

Zapfino 49 pt

Zapfino is a lot lighter than Brush Script but the elegance almost was too well planned for it to fully express serendipity.

Open Sans 57 pt

Open Sans was my only san-serif font. I wanted to invoke a carefree feeling but Open Sans ended up being too balanced compared to my favorite, Bodoni.

Typeface Research

Typeface: Futura

Designer: Paul Renner

Year Designed: 1927

Type Classification: geometric sans-serif

Features: Low x-height, tall ascenders, near perfect circles

Fun Fact: Futura became a type face representative of the Bauhaus movement.

Futura 49 pt
Futura 49 pt
Futura 49 pt

Typographic Hierarchy

--

--