Process Documentation

Project Two

Min Jun Kim
Communication Design Fundamentals F17
4 min readSep 16, 2017

--

1- Comfort, 2- Congestion, 3- Order, 4- Playfulness, 5- Tension

Project Info: Print/Illustration.,Individual Project, 2017

Project Description:

The project’s aim is to convey and evoke certain feelings through the usage of black boxes. The limits to the usage of boxes are as follows: The boxes can bleed out the frame, the boxes can overlap, but no other shapes can be used in the project. As a class project, it was intended to teach the Gestalt principles (how object in space can convey meaning), visual vocabulary and how to use Adobe Illustrator.

Project Process:

The process started with me thinking of certain elements in space that would evoke certain feelings. For example, when I think of Playfulness, I think of movement and dynamism; when I think of Order, I think of structure and symmatry. I then tried to convey these elements through sketches. Initially we were required to make 5 sketches for each word. I then chose some and made iterations of it on Adobe Illustrator. For some of the sketches, I drew them to be too literally, and they ultimately did not make it to the digital iterations. Once I started using the computer, the sketches took a dynamic turn because I was able to do many things that I wasn’t previously able to before, such as using really small squares, and other things that would have taken much longer to do on paper. In the end, I chose five of the designs that I really liked, added some finishing touches and printed them on cardstock papers.

Process Photos:

Uploaded above are 4 process photos. As you can see, the first photo depicts the digital iterations of the sketches. You can see couple of the sketches being on the digital copy, such as tension, playful and order. The remaining 3 pictures are the original sketches of the words. You can see that some of them are very literal- such as the block falling in tension and robot in order. The sketches were expanded upon to become the final product.

Finished Results:

These are the finished results. For a brief description:

1-Comfort: I tried to evoke the feeling of harmony, peace of mind and unity. The usage of tiny black squares give a sort of an entrancing effect.

2-Congestion: The artwork features a box that is frustratingly stuck between other boxes. The pointed edges gives a more intense feeling.

3-Order: The artwork strives to depict structure and balance within balace.

4-Playfulness: I tried to portray dynamic movement and silliness within the artwork.

5-Tension: This piece gives the feeling of tension through boxes that are almost touching but not quite.

--

--