Process Documentation

Project Three

Min Jun Kim
Communication Design Fundamentals F17
3 min readOct 6, 2017

--

Project info: Print/Illustration., Individual project, 2017.

Project description:

The project’s aim is to create a specimen poster which is a type of poster that features a font and it’s specific attributes. The available resources were figures of black, grey, and white value, texts of varying size, with variance in tracking, kerning, line spacing and angles. It is intended to teach the class about characteristics of fonts, and how changing certain aspects of the font affects how the viewers see the writing.

Project process:

The project started off with various exercises to get us used to the idea of working with different fonts. In this part of the project the we had to trace some fonts and work with aspects of the font such as weight and linespacing. Then we got into sketching for the actual poster. I ended up drawing about six designs and chose a few that were actually feasible. Next were digital iterations. I actually lost of lot of my digital iterations because I saved it on the desktop of the computer in the cluster so I only have the printed copy of some of my iterations. Lastly, after getting feedback from the instructors I refined the poster, added some tick marks (so that the edges can be the same size even if there is bleed) and printed on 11x17 80 cardstock paper.

Process images:

The first three are my sketches. You see there are a lot of elements that are in the final piece that are also in the sketches, namely the ones with a vertical text design. The last two images are some of my ditigal iterations that I had access to- they were printed on paper. As you can see the last image has a very strong resemblance to the final piece.

Finished Result:

The font Didot has a strong stroke contrast and causes the viewers to be almost “bedazzled.” I wanted to capture the same feeling that the font gives within this poster. I used a strong contrast in color to grab people’s attention, with the title being the biggest text on the whole poster. The hierarchy used is such that the audience reads white on black first (as it pops out more) and therefore the title, then the word “bedazzling” then the author, “strong stroke contrast” then the character set at the bottom.

--

--