--

Typeface Tracing and Typographic Voice

Typographic Voice

The goal here was to experiment with different fonts to create a voice for the concept and word “purity”. Here is a snapshot of 5 experimentations.

I chose mrs eaves to represent purity because this font reminds me of a friendly, innocent old woman. I think that there is something very pure in that idea, and the font reflects the word well.

Futura was part of my typeface search because it has few embellishments. I experimented with different weights, and futura light seems to be the best representation of purity.

I wanted to include a monospaced font because it would keep each letter in its place, not allowing any one letter to touch another. However, I think that this monospaced font does not work very well for purity.

Bicyclette came up in my experimenting as I was sort of randomly clicking on fonts. The soft corners feel innocent (which in turn feels pure), though I think the close ligatures between letters such as “t” and “y” are not as reflective of the property.

Teimer seems to work well for purity, though I can’t quite put my finger on it. Though this is a stretch, it reminds me of the big titles and nice covers of the books my mom would fall asleep reading as kid.

Typeface Tracing

Here is the result of me tracing over 4 different fonts — garamond, didot, helvetica, and futura (respectively).

--

--