CDF Project 1

Anurati Sodani
Communication Design Fundamentals S18
2 min readJan 22, 2018
Effective Design

This is the title page for a menu of a restaurant called ‘eatgreek’ and I chose this as my example for effective communication design because I think it is able to convey its message concisely to the audience. The logo and the restaurant name is large enough for readers to recognize it but small enough that it doesn’t take over all the space. Furthermore, the background is effective as there are many images from Ancient Greece which pertains with the whole theme of the restaurant. The caption is also clear as the main words “BETTA” and “FETA” are clearly outlined and stand out to the reader.

Ineffective Design

This is a worry box in Randyland in Pittsburgh. I chose this as my example for ineffective design because I think it isn’t clear wha the point of the box is. I myself didn’t realize that it was a box to put your worries in till the owner announced it. It is confusing as there are many large captions written all over the box, and it is easy for the mind to get distracted and think many things at once. Furthermore, it is unclear where someone should put their worry. The arrows don’t stand out enough because of the size and the matter around them. The “HERE” is also a lot smaller, so it is harder to see.

--

--