Project 3, Part 1: Type & Hierarchy

Tiffany Liu
Communication Design Fundamentals S18
3 min readFeb 14, 2018

Exercise 1: Typeface Tracing

(Top-Bottom) Adobe Garamond, Didot, Helvetica, Futura

Exercise 2: Typographic Voice

For this exercise, I chose the word “organic” to experiment with.

The first typeface I chose is a sans serif from the font family “Arial” in a rounded bold style. This is because when I think organic, I think simplistic, without any flourishes or hard edges, and I feel like this typeface is a simple representation of the most basic form of “organic”.

The second typeface I chose is again a sans serif font, this time from the family “Chalet Oblique” in the style “London”. Once again, I chose a relatively simple font without any flourishes, but this time the more defined edges gives the word a clean, minimalist feeling that also represents “organic”. The italicize also streamlines the shapes so that they feel really fitted.

This third typeface is one called “Keep on Truckin” that I felt brought out the more fun and quirky aspect of “organic”. The rounded thickness at certain points in the letters reminded me of the blob form of cells, which is an organic form found in nature.

The fourth typeface is “Montserrat Alternates” in the style “medium”. For me, this typeface brought together all the characteristics mentioned in the previous fonts. It has the clean edges at the ends of the letters, but the softness is still maintained in the large curves and overall roundness of the shapes.

Finally, the fifth typeface, which I feel best represents the word “organic” is from the font family “Herculanum” in the style “regular”. Not only does it maintain the simplicity found in previous fonts, it also has the special feature of the thickness at the connecting points of the different strokes. This reminded me of branches and they are also thicker at points of connection, which is an organic form found in nature.

Additional: Typeface Research — Helvetica

Exercise 3: Typographic Hierarchy

(L-R): 1. Linespacing, 2. Typographic weights, 3. Horizontal shift or indentation
(L-R): 4. Typographic weights & linespacing, 5. Typographic weights & horizontal shift, 6. Horizontal shift & linespacing
7. Size change & typographic weight

--

--