Project 3: Part One

Exercise One: Typeface Tracing

Nalini Sunil Jain
Communication Design Fundamentals S18
2 min readFeb 10, 2018

--

Exercise Two: Typographic Voice

For the word ‘rebellion’, I chose the following typefaces:

Typeface: Khmer Sangam MN
  1. Khmer Sangam MN

I liked the simplicity and straightforwardness of this typeface. It is precise and small; sort of like a small group of rebels.

Typeface: Ayuthaya

2. Ayuthaya

I really liked this typeface because it reminded me of really old machines that could be used for undercover communication.

3. Arial Black

Typeface: Arial Black

I though Arial Black was a very clean typeface and very bold. The heavyness of the strokes definetly conveys strong and daring attitude to me.

4. Krungthep

Typeface: Krungthep

This is my favourite typeface from rebellion. I think it puts together the characteristics from Arial Black and Ayuthuya. It’s very in your face which is rebellious.

5. Impact

Typeface: Impact

Impact is also a good choice for rebellion. I like that it has a thick stroke and is without any flourishes. A rebellion would have to be bold and to the point, which is what I think this typeface conveys.

Exercise Three: Typographic Hierarchy

--

--