[Project 4] Poster Research

After listing out a few topics I was interested in (dance, art, music, food), I finally decided to design posters for a music festival. I enjoy music, and I’ve been to a few music festivals, so I thought it would be fitting. But I wasn’t sure what kind of bands I would want at this festival. I could only choose three, so I wanted to make sure their music genres aligned at least a little bit.

Then after a little more deliberation, I finally decided to pay tribute to three of my favorite music artists: the xx, Purity Ring, and Ta-ku. All three artists’ music is on the relaxed/chill side. Thus for the name of the arts festival I knew I wanted to incorporate a play on the word “days” with “daze.” I finally settled with “Spring Daze” since this festival would be held in April, but if I think of something better I will use that one.

Name of Arts Festival: Spring Daze (title pending)

Title of Event 1: Intro

Name of Artist 1: the xx

About the xx: The xx is an English indie pop group that was formed in London when the band members were still in high school. Captivating and cool, the group cites influences that run the gamut from R&B to classic alternative rock. The group’s signature brand of moody, soulful indie rock first appeared on the public radar in early 2009. They will kick off the festival with the event “Intro,” fittingly named after the first track of their 2009 album.

Date, time, and location of event: April 20th, 10PM, Stage AE

Relevant ticket information including price, how to purchase, etc: $99 for 3-day pass on TicketMaster

Title of Event 2: Songs to Ta-kabout (“Songs to Talk About”)

Name of Artist 2: Ta-ku

About Ta-ku: Regan Mathews, better known by his stage name, Ta-ku, is an Australian musician, producer, and photographer. Ta-ku has released two EP’s and recently released an album in collaboration with singer-songwriter Wafia. He has also remixed several well-known songs. His music has hip-hop and R&B influences, but has a distinct style that makes it easily recognizable. He headlines the second event of the festival, with Songs to Ta-kabout, a play on the titles of his first two EP’s.

Date, time, and location of event: April 21st, 10PM, Stage AE

Relevant ticket information including price, how to purchase, etc: $99 for 3-day pass on TicketMaster

Title of Event 3: One Last Eternity (title pending)

Name of Artist 3: Purity Ring

About Purity Ring: Purity Ring is a Canadian electro-pop duo (Megan James and Corin Roddick) that began when the two members were originally part of an indie rock act. While the band was on tour, they grew increasingly inspired by the sounds of contemporary R&B and wanted to make music reflecting that. During live shows, both wear clothes custom designed and sewn by James, and Roddick uses a custom-built, tree-shaped instrument to drive both live sound and lighting. The will close the festival with “One Last Eternity,” an homage to their recent album, Another Eternity.

Date, time, and location of event: April 22nd, 10PM, Stage AE

Relevant ticket information including price, how to purchase, etc: $99 for 3-day pass on TicketMaster

--

--