Introduction + P1

Hello! My name is Christine and I’m a sophomore in cognitive science.

Me!

A few things about me:

I’m from Fremont, California in the SF Bay Area, and I am addicted to gaming and boba. I’m in a cappella to try to get over my terrible stage fright.. so far I don’t think it has made a difference, but I love to sing so at least it’s fun! I’m taking CDF because I have no experience in design but would like to learn more about creating effective user interfaces for targeted audiences.

Ineffective communication example: Packaging

This box is the packaging that a bottle of facial water came in. The front panel seems simple and effective: the name of the product stands out with the product’s purpose right below it, and the brand is at the bottom of the panel. However, once you start looking for more information, it gets tricky. All the other panels are in extremely small font and have a lot of white space, making information hard to look for. Important sections such as the warnings and the instructions don’t stand out from the rest of the sections. In fact, the Instructions section is on the back panel at the very bottom, so if you were only looking for the instructions, as most people do when they first buy a product, you would likely have had to skim through a bunch of useless information before getting to the section you wanted. The Caution section is inconspicuously located under a long list of ingredients. Better space organization and stronger sectioning would make this packaging more effective in communicating the product’s highlights.

Effective communication example: Apple’s website

This website is simple and easy to navigate. Its design communicates Apple’s position as a high-tech company whose products look sleek but are still very functional. There are minimal colors, except for the newest product, which is featured with the product’s name, a simple, short tagline, and a large image that contrasts well with the white background. This product feature is very effective since it stands out from the rest of the page and doesn’t have extra information or a lot of words.

--

--