Project 1

1/17/19

Hi, my name is Minjae Jeong.

I am a Senior studying decision science and business.

I am staying for an extra year to study what I wanted to, HCI and design.

I have no knowledge in both fields so I hope everything goes well. Aal izz well

I am a Korean.

Ineffective communication design

I consider this conditioner as an ineffective communication design. Instead of “directions”, this bottle says “Our experts’ tips”, which made me rotate the bottle couple times to see if there is a direction. Content seems worse. Rather than telling the customers how to easily use the product in a proper way, they are focusing on advertising their hair products. Also, wording is unnecessarily “fancy”. I actually did not understand what it was telling me so I just use it like I use shampoo, which gives me doubts every time.

Effective (but also somewhat ineffective personally)

This is a screenshot of my iTunes. Apple is known for clean design and easy to use. This iTunes library organizes my music very clean and easy to look. Also the dark background stresses my eyes less than previous bright color, which helps because I have my iTunes in fullscreen on my second screen all the time.

However, personally I believe that the + icon on the right side of the screen is an ineffective design. I have been using Apple Music for about a semester, and I still do not know what the icon means. I always click it because I do not want to lose songs in my playlists, but I am too lazy to google it. I feel like not even giving a pop-up text showing what it means is somewhat less effective because it may disrupt the “clean” Apple style, but it should tell me what it does.

--

--