Project 5: Digital Magazine Feature

Introduction

In this project, I set out to design a fashion magazine spread to accompany an article about Gucci and Balenciaga’s Aria collection. I used the principles related to type, hierarchy, and grids to design my spreads, and tried to achieve readability and a modern look.

Final Spread

Grid Tracing Exercise

I tried two different ways of tracing the grid in these articles- highlighting modular form elements, and also with regular rectangles. This helped me to identify how the grid plays into the overall form of the articles.

Design Inspiration

SSENSE Magazine layout
Source
Source: Vogue
Source: Vogue

I tried to take the direction of a modern, high-end publication. Vogue was an inspiration to me, but I feel that its style can often be more classic, whereas I wanted to exemplify a simple, clean and sharp feeling. I used the SSENSE magazine as inspiration, as that brand caters to new, young and emerging luxury brands and consumers.

Sketches

At first, I set out to try to make a 4 column grid that worked well in the context of a fashion magazine. I sketched 5 different page layouts, many of which used a 4 column grid.

Image Inspiration

Initial inspiration and comparison pictures:

My favorite photos of the collection were taken by Kevin Tachman, and I used many of them in my spreads and for inspiration:

I also liked these images from Gucci :

Typography

I used Source Sans Variable for the titles, and Source Serif Variable for the body. I close a serif font for the body due to its readability and flow. The Sans title font provided impact and simplicity.

Spread Iterations

I started with a 4-column grid, but eventually changed to 3 columns for practicality. I also decreased the gutter size so that my work was more legible, and included larger images.

First Draft Spread:

Cover Drafts:

For my first draft spread, I chose a Kevin Tachman image as the cover. I selected this image for its soft but exciting aesthetic qualities. I also liked the movement of the people, plants and air in the photo’s background. However, I ended up choosing a different image for the final as it seemed more striking as a cover. I also played with the cover’s title placement, size, shape and whether or not to include the subtext on the title or not.

First Page Drafts:
I started using a four-column grid with a large image at the top of the page, however I switched to a 3-column grid with narrower gutters per class and instructor feedback. I also changed the images, image citation format, and removed one image to optimize for the changes in shape.

Second Page Drafts:

I adapted the text and images to align with my 3 column grid system, changed the folio text position and the text spacing to improve readability. I also shrunk the title to match the size of the title on the fourth page.

Third Page Drafts:

My third page remained mostly the same, aside from some changes to citation and folio.

Fourth Page Drafts:

At this point I was just following the format of the second page, but had less text to work with so I used more images and a larger pull quote. I also changed my folio to the final format.

Final Draft Spread:

While I didn’t have the chance to iterate through a lot of breadth for this project, I did try to be very careful with my craftsmanship. I tried to create shapes with my text and images, pay attention to issues like spacing and orphans, and create a grid that furthers the aesthetic and clarity of my publication. While I started out wanting to do the four-column grid, I ultimately decided to heed feedback from my classmates and go with the three column grid, along with shrinking the gutters between the columns.

--

--