Project 3 — TypeFace & Typography Design

YingjingLu
Communication Design Fundamentals
4 min readOct 4, 2016

Initial sketches

  • About the layout of the typeface name

Actually for the entire layout I have been through a lot of versions. I wanted the entire font name to be relatively symmetric so that the gravity will not bent towards the capital A side. But the word Avenir is not do symmetric, especially the second last alphabet i is really thin and tall compared to the “R”, and “R” and “A” does not look similar. I tried to bring the capital words all down or ALL UP. The combined square one is the best according to my symmetrical standard, but does not read Avenir but Airenv.

  • Entire layout sketches

Considering the fact that Avenir is a futuristic font, I really want to enphasize the futuristicity of the font. For me, being futuristic means either fashionable or being clean and concise. Those are the main characteristics I establish my initial layouts.

############################################

Versions and Trials

  • Version I

For this one, I really want it to look fashion. I noticed that the “A” and “V” are the two that can form most tension. I really want to establish the tension to emphasize the progressiveness and futuristicity of the font. But it is hard for me to adjust out the white spaces at the right top and down left corners. So I ended up not using this design.

*******************************************************************

  • Version II

This one is my favorite version. It has high contrast, and the colors just pop out and it looks to have tension yet fashionable. I really love to read the Avenir at the title. My eye move from A, blocked by V and then follow the color to en and then to IR. But during the critique, most of my classmates does not read the way I expected. Maybe it is because I know it is Avenir before hand. But they could not really tell. I tried to explore other options but not even get one that makes me satisfied. So I ended up not using this design.

*******************************************************************

  • Version III

This is the initial version of it. It is fashionable according to my standard. And at the same time, it is really clear. The big A really enphasizes the word’s stress AAAAvenir.

This is the version I eliminated the repetition of the paragraph and adjusted the color to make the printed version more readable.

Adding up the entire font family. Because I really wanted to emphasize the conciseness, I really do not want the entire font family to be a disturb. I want them to form an elegant line.

I really want tht line to form a strong triangle to sharpen the big “A”. But the “A” is already sharp enough, and adding the lines weakens it. So I aborted this idea at the end.

Instead, I put the thin line at the bottom because I do not want the line to disrupt the relationship of the Avenir title and its content.

I tried to add more emphasis onto the big “A” theme.

Adding more emphasis onto the big “A” and further line up the lines, title, and the paragraph.

Final Draft:

REALLY Final Output:

I eliminated the “A” in the paragraph to make the color consistency better. Also I think in this way the readers will focus more on the content of the actual paragraph instead of the pattern of the paragraph. Making the content of the poster more readable.

Some more color adjustment. Using the same blue through out all the texts. Improved consistency.

--

--