Wait, I Did Something Right for Once

When it comes to communication in the workplace, the relationship one forms with their coworkers can prove to be extremely important, or practical in the least. But how does one form such relationships and furthermore make them beneficial for both parties? Roger P. Wilcox (1977), author of Communication at Work: Writing and Speaking, would say it comes down to key elements such as trust and open dialogue. Throughout his informative text — or rather the single chapter I decided to skim — Wilcox explores the ins and outs of both written and oral communication, and provides advice on how to improve the skills incorporated within both in order to form these connections and present one’s self appropriately.

Using trust as the first necessary requirement, Wilcox explains how building a sense of security with your coworkers opens the doorway to many possibilities, as well as makes communication much simpler. If a colleague holds any form of resentment or suspicious directed towards you, the odds of them misinterpreting information is much higher. It’s because of this that effort should be put forth once establishing yourself in a work position with fellow employees. SOOO I tried!

At the moment, I am in training to be a server at a restaurant near my campus and home, and for the first time have found myself in a company with dozens of colleagues. With so many opportunities to make new friends and relationships, I have been striving to do just that. I have been introducing myself, using open and proper body language, and smiling whenever I pass another worker or guest. Taking Wilcox’s advice into effect, I have attempted to build trust with these workers through actions such as simply opening a door for them, helping them carry food out to their tables, and pre-bussing their tables. Sure, these are not responsibilities of mine, but I have already noticed these individuals taking the time to strike up pleasant conversation with me as a result, and therefore it’s certainly worth it.

Does that mean… I’m making… friends??? Am I doing something right for once???

Now Wilcox also goes into depth about the importance of open dialogue, and although I interpreted his passage to be about proper presentation and the allowance of speaking when trouble arises, I’m interpreting it in a different way. So, if you’re interested in the advice of a bad socializer, please continue reading. If not, you can probably find his book at the library or something; you do you.

If you spend countless hours a day in a professional environment with the same people over and over again, keeping conversations with your coworkers rigid and conservative can be extremely tedious. That’s why you should shake it up a bit! Open dialogue, in my mind, refers to those connections where it’s acceptable to be comical and inappropriate. Of course, you should always establish a sense of comfortability and ensure you aren’t crossing any lines, but entertain your coworkers and hope for the same in response. It works to make work more enjoyable, your friendships stronger, and the atmosphere much less structured.

In training I was polite, helpful, sarcastic, slightly inappropriate, all while still maintaining a level of professionalism when necessary. So, you know, maybe my advice is bad and profanity doesn’t belong in the work place, but I don’t exactly recall Wilcox talking about how many friends he has in his textbook.

Wilcox, R. P. (1977). Communication at work: writing and speaking. Boston: Houghton Mifflin.

--

--