Results of Primary Research

Hunter Ford
Communication in our Daily Lives
2 min readMar 4, 2018

As you may know a few weeks ago I started down the path to improving my communication soft skill. I wanted to use the chance to attain two goals at the same time by also pursuing the Business Manager position on my acappella groups’ E-board. This position as I previously mentioned is of great importance to The Buffalo Chips as an organization- this being said, not just anyone can become an E-board member.

First a member of the group must be nominated by another member, the nomination must then be seconded. If a member receives a nomination they then advance to the voting section of elections- here the nominees stand before the group and give a short speech about why they may be suited for the position. This speech can make or break a nominees chance of being elected. For example a chips alumni used his speech time to say “Well I kinda hate all of you…” as one could predict he wasn’t elected.

As shown in my previous posts I have already stated to increase my influence in the group through my communication skills. It is because these efforts I have made that have put me into a comfortable position with the out going Buffalo Chips E-board. I now have the support of 2 of the 4 current members- our current Music Director, and our current Business Manager. These two are arguably the most influential members in our group, gaining their support means a lot.

Going into elections I have started to combine my hands-on knowledge with the information I have gathered from a series of books and sources either online or in the library. I hope that my combination of this new information and my knowledge will allow me to secure my desired position of Business Manager or my secondary choice- Marketing Director.

Best,

Hunter

--

--