Secondary Research- Medium

Hunter Ford
Communication in our Daily Lives
2 min readMar 5, 2018
“An overhead shot of a MacBook with a draft of an executive summary on a wooden surface” by Bram Naus on Unsplash

In this post I will begin to focus in on information from outside sources. Specifically I’d like to start by referencing a Medium publication written by Lolly Daskal- Communication Mistakes to Avoid a All Costs. In this publication Daskal walks the reader though some Do’s and Don’ts of communicating.

Something I have noticed throughout this project is my lack of attention to tone-. In many scenarios I use proper tone, but on the flip side I can use an improper tone. According to Daskal- “Tone is important at any time, but especially when in the middle of a challenge.”(Daskal, 2016) This specific quotation resonates with me as I aim to use my communication skills to help attain an internship and or a job. Either of the scenarios are going to be challenging so tone will be of great importance. For example if I were to set a tone that I’m a qualified applicant will end very differently than if I were to set an uptight entitled tone.

In addition to attention to tone, many people react rather than respond. I think of myself as someone who is rather calculated- that being said, I don’t usually get hung up on frustration. Daskal states in her article that she feels that frustration can be avoided by simply “Take a deep breath and consider all the facts (Including those you may not know). When you pause to reflect, you can respond instead of react.”(Daskal, 2016) This allows for a civil conversation that can accomplish more.

The above information has just some of what Daskal’s article covered, I found her view on the topic to be not only similar to my own, but very realistic and applicable.

Best,

Hunter

Sources Cited-

Daskal, L. (2016, August 09). Communication Mistakes to Avoid at All Costs — Lolly Daskal — Medium. Retrieved March 04, 2018, from https://medium.com/@LollyDaskal/communication-mistakes-to-avoid-at-all-costs-5f8f75ef9900

�ͦU

--

--