The Beginning

Hunter Ford
Communication in our Daily Lives
2 min readFeb 21, 2018

My name is Hunter Ford. I’m a sophomore at the University at Buffalo majoring in Business Administration with concentrations in Marketing and Finance. Over the next several weeks I will be using this blog to express the ways that young professionals can grow by strengthening their soft skills. Specifically, I will be focusing on the soft skill- Communication. In the coming weeks I will be diving deep into what makes communication skills for sought after and valuable to young professionals. This specific soft skill peaks my interests for many reasons-

1. I currently possess a relatively strong ability to communicate effectively

2. I can use my knowledge from this project to further myself professionally

3. I would like to provide others the chance to learn from my ability and my knowledge associated with said ability

I will be discussing some key functions of communication that allow for clear and effective communication. In addition I want to question the ways we as humans communicate and why we communicate in such ways- an example of this could the popular but rather unprofessional method of communication commonly referred to as texting. Texting I become a wildly popular method of communicating among the younger people of our planet. What makes this form of communicating so effective or ineffective? In what ways could we improve cellular text communication? Can Texting be used in a professional setting?

This project has the option to cover a very broad topic or to become very specific, as humans we communicate every day in a variety of ways. My personal goal over the course of this project is to combine my current knowledge and ability to further strengthen my communication skills- if all goes well I can then apply this skill to my communication with interviewers for my internships.

Best,

Hunter

--

--